top of page

Weekly Writing Activity | 3

Prompt: You are Jogging through the park, it is late at night and the full moon is in the sky. A howl pierces the silent nigh's air.


This Weeks Writes

  • ffilC

  • Bryan Romero

  • Victor Pierz

  • Emerie Valentin (Emerson)

  • Immanuel Ibon

  • Matthew Mai

  • Efren Flores

  • Vienna Hernandez

  • Mike Griswold

 

ffilC

It's werewolf time bois. Heckin rampage on a player my dude. I don't know and I couldn’t tell you why I can't write anything and that’s upsetting. My whole thing is that I absolutely admire them, like a stick or whatever it is but I can’t write about anything, a curse, a burden.

Lol jk

The night was young, the howlers were loud and the moon was full. That’s all that happened, the end.


Bryan

She’s always liked night runs. Everything was better at night. For her, it meant no sunlight burning her face, no people she’d have to worry about, and a calm atmosphere that allowed her to reflect on her thoughts. Of course, the con was the fear of what or who lurked in the bushes, in a dark spot the park lights didn’t reach. She never had anything happen to her in the park at night either so despite what most people think, this was the most comfortable time for her. She’s on her third time passing by the playground after doing laps around the whole park and finally tires herself out enough to rest on a bench near it. She regrets not bringing a water bottle. It’s cold tonight. She can see her breaths come out in white clouds of smoke. She was thinking of replenishing her thirst with a water fountain she saw by a bathroom nearby when some bushes near her started moving. She got up and held her hand over her pepper spray she kept by her hip. She looked around and didn’t see anybody else here.


Vitor

You came out here to clear your head a bit, after laying in bed and looking at the gutted hole in your wall. Now you feel bare and skinned and above all lonely. Even the crickets got scared by that wolf, but tentatively come back with their senseless chant. The air is sweet.

The woodland on the bottom of the hill is where you would be if you were a wolf, would be if you were anything but yourself.

You’d been glad to be, seemingly, the only person out this late in the park, but now, you imagine a wolf jerking your bloody leg around and pulling you backwards up the slide. No one will be there to stand frozen in horror.

A wolf wouldn’t kill you. Go home. Go home and sleep.

--

“I saw a wolf on my way home last night.”

“Ooh!” Star said.

“Yeah, it was huge and it was just standing there. It’s shoulders were huge. It had eyes.” You lie boastfully, painting the image as you go, to impress Star.

“Eyes, wow, how many?”


Emerson

“Oh my god guys, didn’t I tell you to not follow me around anymore.”

The wolves stopped in their tracks, ears pricked up. The one in the front pouts, somehow, despite being in wolf form, “It’s been dangerous out here and-”

“And what? Y’all are the weirdos that are following me round at night, not whatever else goes bump in the night,” I snap my face forward, “Now go.”

“We’re just returning the favor,” I groan, wishing I never saved this guy from a random trap in the woods. Poaching was illegal for christ sake, yet here they were. And of course when I decided to help it was a werewolf. A werewolf. Shit had been rare for the past decades, apparently. Those that belonged to the Mother of Lilith were on the rise, so the Children of Terra were waning in numbers. Apparently the demons liked to eat them.

Which is why poaching is illegal, but when the fuck do demons care about laws. The High Council was stupid as shit. The people going missing around here were probably because of demons, too.

“I’m fine.”

“You’re...human.”

“No, I’m not,” I snap, although I might as well have been, “Anyways, let me continue my run. In peace. I’m glad y’all appreciate what I did and that you’re ok, but I’m good on my own.”


Immanuel

EXT. PARK TRAIL. NIGHT.

JEN and ANDREW are jogging in the park under a full moon. Jen appears to be angry with Andrew. Andrew runs behind in order to give her space. The night air is crisp and their breaths are easily seen in the dim park lights. Andrew is starting to tire and Jen is starting to pull away from him both physically and emotionally. Suddenly a wolf howls. It seems close.


ANDREW (whispering loudly)

Jen! Jen! Wait up!


Jen doesn’t acknowledge him. She continues to run unfazed by the howl.


ANDREW

Jen!


Andrew hears rustling in the bushes around him. He checks his surroundings and picks up the pace.


ANDREW (yelling)

Jen! I think there’s a -


Suddenly a dark figure jumps out of the bushes. The creature lunges at Andrew and bites down on his ankle. The sound of the bone cracking drowns out his scream. The creature pulls his body back into the foliage. It’s quiet again. Jen hears the commotion and turns around.


Jen (calling out)

Andrew? Andrew?


There’s another rustling in the bushes. Jen slowly walks back towards where Andrew was.


Jen

I swear this isn’t funny.


Jen pulls her backpack off of her shoulders and grips the straps like the handles of a mace. A branch cracks to her left. She turns to see track marks in the dirt. She can hear soft breaths from the other side of the bush. Jen tightens her grip and walks towards the noise


Jen

Andy? Babe? Are you there?


EXT. FOREST. NIGHT

Jen pushes through the shrubbery to the clearing on the other side. There’s a mangled body on the dirt. It is wearing the same clothes as Andrew but is unrecognizable otherwise. Jen rushes to the body screaming. As she cries, the bushes behind her begin to move. She turns to face the sound, tears streaming down her face. A pair of yellow eyes slowly fade into view.


Jen (screaming)

Stay away!


UNKNOWN

What are you talking about? Jen. It’s me.


The figure comes out into the moonlight. Andrew is standing before Jen. He is naked. Jen looks at the figure in disbelief. She looks back at the bloody body in the dirt. The UNKNOWN smiles.


UNKNOWN

You weren’t supposed to see this.


He looks behind her and nods.


UNKNOWN

I’m sorry.


From the dark, another creature lunges out. It’s teeth, clean and unbloodied, shine in the moonlight. Jen screams and tries to pull away from the monster. It’s no use and the creature quickly overpowers her and begins to feed. The UNKNOWN kneels down next to the creature and gently pets it.


UNKNOWN (whispering)

Good boy. Good boy.


Gray naked bodies emerge from the forest. Their eyes all glowing the same faint yellow. And with the full moon in view from the clearing, they start to howl.



Matthew Mai

Chien heard the sound of the wolves howling and he followed the sound until there were 50 bunch of wolves. Wolves stare at Chien with violence urge to eat him, then Chien pulls out a shotgun then Doom slayer music theme plays in the background.


Efren Flores

"It feels like somebody is trying to sell me something", I yelled as I turned around quickly. There, behind me were two ghouls holding briefcases. I pointed at them with my index finger and they were frightened by my rude behavior. They moaned and groaned as the undead are known to do. Yet, I was fluent in ghoulish. They told me they wanted to sell me undead insurance. After all, it's not guaranteed when a zombie or even a ghost might kill you. So, I acquired a contract for three years to ensure the undead don't disturb me.


Vienna

I mean, I wouldn’t say I’m really jogging per se. I’m actually running for my life. What sane person goes jogging in the middle of the night! I know there are some people who don’t have time to jog during the day because they work all day but at that point just do some exercises inside. Look, of course, I wish we had the freedom to go out and about as we please, but here’s the real deal: I am a girl who was convinced to go jogging through the park late at night and yes there is a full moon, but I heard a howl that was way too close for comfort. That is why my jog turned into a run for my life.

‘It’s so freeing!’ He said. ‘Give it a chance.’ he said. ‘IF I COULD DO IT, THEN SO CAN YOU!’ he said!

If I don’t get murdered tonight, I know who will.

I start to hear patter on the floor now, that blurs into loud quick stomps as it gets closer. I’m presuming it's a wolf or coyote or something, but for one to be in the city? Being a girl, this was honestly not one of the things I was afraid of when thinking about jogging in the middle of the night.


Mike

The wind blows cold on this evening night

Clouds of gray fill the sky as moonlight beams shine though

Alone on this evening path, cold with nothing in the moonlight night

Completely isolated

But on this path, I hear a howl

It echoes through the moonlight park

The source unknown, the numbers unclear

The howl it calls,

The north, the south, the east, or west

The echoing howl, chilling my soul

Silent, for just a moment

A moment where the moon is covered

Silent, cold, and eerie

For just a moment

For just a moment I am safe

For just a moment when gray hides the stars

For just a moment where the moon is vailed

And just a moment silent can be heard

But just a moment until the moonlight brakes

And the howls begin once again



bottom of page