top of page

Weekly Writing Activity | 4

Prompt: Hanahaki Disease (this is a disease where flowers grow in your lungs due to unrequited love)


This Weeks Writes

  • Efren Flores

  • Bryan Romero

 

Efren

I remember how it grew. It was a little seed at first grown inside me the day she said no. I was fifteen back then and I thought simply giving her a rose and a sincere confession of love was enough. She said I was a loser and she walked away. I never loved again, but that day, it grew in me. A seed formed in my heart and it simply remained there in the crevice of my broken heart. I kept making my way through life devoid of love all while my flower grew. The bud was in my heart and the stem grew into my lungs. When I was twenty, I saw her again, but she was happily married. I was reminded I never stood a chance to find love, but I never really needed it. I coughed up flower petals and quickly realized I had something inside me others did not. I wasn't alone, I had a flower that blossomed inside me.


Bryan

I love my flowers. They are my cushion. A cushion on my chest slowly getting heavier and heavier but softly like a cushion. I can’t breathe anymore. I don’t mind. I don’t feel anymore. My heart loses oxygen and my eyes get heavy as I fall asleep. I don’t feel anymore. I don’t love anymore. I don’t live anymore.

bottom of page